• Slide15
  • Slideshow
  • Slide12
  • Slide13
  • Slide14
  • Slide11
  • Slide08
  • Slide07
  • Slide06
  • Slide05
  • Slide04
  • Slide03
  • Slide02
  • Slide01
  • Slide17
  • Slide19
  • Slide15

Message from President Rod Morrison

Welcome to the Alaska Association for Secondary School Principals!  I am Rod Morrison, principal at George H. Gilson Middle School in Valdez, Alaska and your AASSP president for the upcoming school year. Our organization is rich in tradition in that we provide professional development in the area of leadership, networking and an avenue for your voice at the state and national level.  However, we know that we must change with the winds of education and support your leadership efforts as you continue to work with a more diverse population of students, as you assist in helping students attain both content and employability skills and as you encourage students to be caring and productive adults who give back to our Alaska communities.

We strongly believe that by supporting Alaska principals, who in turn support Alaska teachers, Alaska students will be successful.  In these difficult times, an AASSP member is only a phone call, email or away!  No matter the size, demographics or location of your school, I encourage you to become a member of AASSP to be a part of new traditions.

This is going to be a great year. We will continue to move AASSP forward and continue to support educators and students. If you have any questions, comments or concerns you can contact any of the state officers’ that are listed on the AASSP website. Have a great year and we hope to see in you in Anchorage at our 49th Annual Principals’ Conference on October 18-20, 2015.

Best wishes for a successful school year!